The 7 Deadly Sins

The 7 deadly sins, also known as the capital vices and cardinal sins, are prominent in the Catholic Church. They are called “capital” because they engender other sins, other vices. These include pride, greed, wrath, envy, lust, gluttony, and laziness (or sloth), which are contrary to the seven heavenly virtues.

Take a closer look at the 7 deadly sins below:

7 Deadly Sins Infographic

Lust  – To have an intense desire or need
“But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” Matthew 5:28

Gluttony – Excess in eating or drinking
“For drunkards and gluttons become poor, and drowsiness clothes them in rags.” Proverbs 23:21

Greed – A selfish desire to have more
“Having lost all sensitivity, they have given themselves over to sensuality so as to indulge in every kind of impurity, with a continual lust for more.” Ephesians 4:19

Laziness – Lack of effort
“The way of the sluggard is blocked with thorns, but the path of the upright is a highway.” Proverbs 15:19

Wrath – Vengeful anger or indignation
“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” Proverbs 15:1

Envy – Jealousy toward the happiness of others
“Rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, an slander of every kind” 1 Peter 2: 1–2

Pride – Inflated state of being proud
“Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fail.” Proverbs 16:18

Check out more of our Catholic Infographics.